Cycling Tracks in NOIDA

Posted on Updated on

US v. THEM

It’s been quite some time since I made my last post. I’ve been cycling more to explore the new city suburb that we moved in recently, and at the same time trying hard to organize the data I collect through my weekend rides. A recent news item caught my attention and I couldn’t resist pushing this entry through, mostly because this was one of the many areas about my city’s infrastructure that I wanted to post about.

After my interesting encounter with the truck driver the other day, I invited my friend Rajeeb along for some more interesting trips through the by-roads of the Greater Noida Expressway. After riding along the highways, main roads, junctions and alleyways of NOIDA, I have mixed feelings. There is much already here in the name of infrastructure, but the public at large is deprived of the most basic civic sense. If you ask what civic means, I’m sure most of them would say it is one of the best-selling models from the stable of a popular Japanese auto-maker. No more comments on that.

But this post, and the subsequent posts aim to highlight the urban mess called NOIDA, despite being a very organized city.

Cycling Track-1

It was overwhelming to see that most roads in NOIDA boast of cycle tracks, unlike her bigger and more famous neighbours like Delhi and Gurgaon. The fact of the matter is – cycling tracks are so ill-designed that they appear more like distractions than something designed to help cyclists, pedestrians or even motorists. One thing I’m sure is that none of the people who designed these lanes has ever been a cyclist. Else they would have designed lanes in a way that people could actually cycle.

Cycling tracks in NOIDA are designed by people who don't even know cycling. See the best example!
Cycling tracks in NOIDA are designed by people who don’t even know cycling. See the best example!

If you have a Pinterest account, do please follow my board  for more pictorial entries. In the coming days, I shall keep posting more about this wonderful city and its infrastructure, and what blunder does its denizens do with their blessings. In case you want to know the exact locations, please mention your email ID as a comment and I shall be happy to send you the same in Google Earth format.

Does your city have a similar story? Please feel free to share.

12 thoughts on “Cycling Tracks in NOIDA

    sonniq said:
    March 18, 2015 at 10:45

    I lived in Key West for ten years and a bicycle was my main mode of transportation. Even had grocery bags hanging off my handle bars. Because there were so many bikes on the road it was very user friendly. Cars knew to look out for bikes. You could travel the 125 miles down the keys on wonderful bike paths. Now I live in Pa. People get in there car to drive one block.

    I also wanted to tell you how much I appreciate all the times you been to http://mynameisjamie.net.

    Liked by 1 person

      manuchettan responded:
      March 18, 2015 at 12:38

      I feel immensely happy to read this comment. I’m more of a casual blogger, though I aspire myself to be a ‘blogtivist’ and elevate the awareness of fellow city dwellers on the need to be more serious about their civic responsibilities. Happy to see that you also used to be a cyclist. I keep visiting your blog and I would like to know more about Jamie. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        March 18, 2015 at 19:01

        My bike is sitting very lonely in my garage. Where I live now there is no where I can ride it unless I put it on a bike rack I don’t have to drive several miles to a bike path that used to be a rail road. I was used to riding it as transportation.

        Liked by 1 person

        manuchettan responded:
        March 19, 2015 at 10:46

        Sad to know that. We don’t have cycling tracks here. The ones are there aren’t usable. Hope you saw that in my Pinterest entries. Yet I try taking my bike through the traffic. Can’t live without it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        March 20, 2015 at 01:46

        Yes, I did the photos. It’s a sad state. If each person only did a little bit it could be a beautiful place, but people don’t care or they’re too wrapped up in their own lives to think about it. And then there are those who think it is someeone else’s job to clean it up.

        Liked by 1 person

    sonniq said:
    April 10, 2015 at 02:39

    I came by today to see if you had posted anything new. I looked again at my bike in my garage. Now that the cold season is drawing to a close. I can only ride it around my community our cross the road into the shopping center. I miss not riding my bike every day to do my everyday traveling. But I also hibernate in the winter and I am badly out of shape and need to get my strength back. You’d have to drag me outside kicking and screaming in the winter months. My body refuses to acclimate even after 4 winters. But now I am planning my garden and color will come back into my life.

    Liked by 1 person

      manuchettan responded:
      April 10, 2015 at 13:15

      I’m in the process of posting something new and different. All the time I keep thinking about what to write and how to present my thoughts, and the whole week (or may be month) just pass by. I don’t know how it would be to have a daily bike ride, but I am definitely going to push you to have weekend rides. I will keep you posted on the developments. I’m looking forward to achieve a 50 kilometer (up and down combined) benchmark ride this year. Will build on more distances from there. For me, biking is the only physically challenging activity (ok, may be a little walking as well) that I do in winters. So I’ll pull you out of the blankets to the bike for rides. Beware! 😛

      Like

        sonniq said:
        April 11, 2015 at 04:10

        Lol. That brought a smile to my face!

        Liked by 1 person

        manuchettan responded:
        April 11, 2015 at 05:24

        I quite hope that you will have a ride this weekend! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        April 11, 2015 at 09:40

        I think I need to walk awhile first and get my legs in better shape!

        Like

        manuchettan responded:
        April 13, 2015 at 11:03

        A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step. Start walking!! 🙂

        Like

        sonniq said:
        April 13, 2015 at 19:47

        🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

